Are Mothers hard-wired with low patience levels?

Patience is a virtue in any situation in life. However, when it comes to dealing with young ones it is at times required in over abundance.

From my experience and observations around me, I find the fathers outscoring the mother on this virtue by miles together.

Demonstration of patience in the initial years is the same for both the parents as the kid is too small. However, as the child grows there is a decline in the patience levels of mothers. This may come across as a generalized biased statement but when I look around including my wife, I feel that the tipping point to start scolding kids at the slightest misdemeanor is extremely low with mothers. I have seen enough cases within family, friends and in public spaces to stand by my statement.

I did speak to a few mothers to understand the rationale behind it and the retort I got was “try spending the whole day with the kids, manage the house and the numerous other chores with it and then we’ll talk”. So going by this logic working mothers should not be falling in the short of patience category then?

While weekends and holidays are completely devoted to my son and other household chores (I am sure a lot of the fathers do as well) – I am never short of patience. I don’t mean to come across as superman, but the point I am trying to raise is – is there any long term psychological damage which may be happening inadvertently? Are the mothers lending themselves to becoming ineffective over a period of time with the constant (nearly) shouting?

Leave a Reply

