I hate girls!

Not me – never I hope.

These are my son’s current sentiment vis-à-vis the fairer sex. This misplaced sense of “not liking” is reciprocated by the fairer sex towards the boys as well.

Obviously, an age related syndrome, where girls are not in his favourable consideration set, at-least for the time being. This situation is particularly applicable for the environment at school and not necessary for some close friends who happen to be girls, with whom he is familiar and comfortable.

So I was amused when I heard his declaration and claimed excuse for not wanting to go to school. He happens to be currently sharing his seat/desk with a girl.

Here is when I had to step in and remind him that his mother, grandmother and siblings (his and mine) were all girls and that they cannot be wished away. I also counselled him and probed him for the reason for the irritation and ways to work around them.

Net-net, the realization that “girls” are very much a part and parcel of the circle of life and that they are fun to be with.

I am of the hopeful that the current sentiment would undergo a 180o change when he hits the teens years.

Leave a Reply

